Paris Fashion Week 2014 Review: Elie Saab

After dressing the likes of Angelina Jolie at the 2014 Oscars, this talented designer turned his hand to his latest collection.  The signature sparkling gowns that fans obsess over were not missing, yet the collection was definitely more centred on daywear.  However, the lavish evening confections were definitely some of my favourite pieces.  After all, we all know how much I like my pretty gowns!  I did notice, that the designer let the rich fabric do the heavy lifting, rather than using all detailing and embellishments.  Like those stunning, sleek velvet gowns; they are definitely going to be a huge hit on the red carpet next winter.  In fact, the entire collection was sleek and sophisticated.

Image

This billowing ombré gown is light and airy in the most delightful way.  The ombré fabric lifts the whole dress to a new level and might I just say that thigh high slit is very sexy.  I mean, just look how that gown just billows out behind her.  I love the accessories as well, because they tie the whole look together perfectly.  I really like the understated black belt, that cinches the dress perfectly.

Image

I love the fabric manipulation, the way it’s gathered and swept up to the side.  The wrapped fabric, creates the slight asymmetric hemline, which I think adds to the dimension of the dress.  But what makes it even better, is that it’s gathered in several different strategic places and not just across the hips and waist.  I also love the beautiful floral print.  It’s one of my favourite prints of the week, for sure!

Image

I absolutely adore this professional, polished look.  The deep, rich colour is perfect for fall and the silhouette is absolutely fabulous.  I love the lapels, the sleeveless top, the perfectly pressed pants, everything about it is fierce, professional and sophisticated.  Throw that stunning, matching bag into the mix, and we have a perfectly put together outfit, that’s perfect for a powerful woman.

Elie Saab is one of my favourite designers of all time, and he never ever disappoints with his collections.  I absolutely loved the trendy show and I hope I wasn’t the only one to feel this way!  I’d love to hear some more opinions on the show and not just my own!

Bisous, mes chéries!

xxoo

Kate

Leave a Reply

