New York Fashion Week 2014 Review: Marchesa

Hello chéries!  Unfortunately, I only have the time to review two shows today, as I am sick, for one, and two, I am packing because unfortunately I am being dragged away to my cottage until Monday night.  Trust me, this was not my idea and I have no say in this matter.  I mean this is really the most inconvenient time for a trip where there will be no internet access!  New York Fashion Week is just finishing up and I will miss practically all of London Fashion Week.  Again I say, WORST TIME TO BE GOING AWAY!

But to the Marchesa show (I think I’ve ranted enough..oops).  I really did like some of the looks from Marchesa.  I think I found that they were more works of art rather than just garments.  The lavish gowns were lovely, very detailed and dramatic.

 

article-2558162-1B706EED00000578-918_634x923

This was the finale gown and I really like how structured and textured it is.  It is very ornate and dramatic; just perfect for a red carpet event.  I’m not sure if I’m really sold on that colour though, but then again, this shade of yellowish gold has never really been a favourite of mine.  For some reason, I have never found it attractive on any garment.article-2558162-1B70520D00000578-68_634x632I like how this gown just billows out and looks so light and airy in the skirt, but with a heavily beaded and detailed top.  The draped skirt is the perfect contrast for the top, because anymore detailing and it would have been too much, in my opinion.  The contrast balances it out and harmonizes the whole look.  But again, not totally sold on the colour.  I do prefer it on this gown to the finale gown, but I’m still not sold.

Anyone else feel the same way I do about this colour?  Hope you’re all enjoying the shows today.

xxoo

Kate

 

Leave a Reply

