Infinity Scarf DIY

Salut chéries!  I decided to make a couple scarves for my mum.  I found some leftover fabric from who knows what, but I just knew that the print was so her.  I looked up several tutorials online and tried two different ways to make them.  Now one did not turn out at all but I will get to that later.

This first one I made was 30 inches by 60 inches and I started out by folding it in half so it was 12inches by 60inches.  I then sewed it to make it a long tube and turned it the right side out.  I then somehow managed (And it is still beyond me how I managed to do this) to flip the edges of the tube so the right sides were together and sewed all the way around until there were several inches left un-sewed.  I then flipped the edges back to the right side out and sewed that last little hole closed.  I know, I know it is super confusing and I really don’t know how to explain it any better.  I am so sorry for that.  I followed this tutorial here and maybe their instructions are a tad more clear than my own.  I also found those instructions a little confusing so I don’t even know if I took them the right way.  The way I described it is the way that I took it.  Anyway, I am rambling on and probably just making everyone even more confused so I will just show you a picture of the finished scarf.

DSCN0988

First Infinity Scarf (30×60 inches)

DSCN0989

Close-up of the print

My second scarf was a little longer: 30 inches by 80 inches.  I decided to try it a different way so I started out by sewing the fabric into one large circle, so the two ends together.  I then went around and sewed the 80 inch side until there was about 6 inches left open.  I thought that it would be easier to sew but when I turned it the right side out it was not an infinity scarf!  It was one long tube the length of my arm!  I still have no idea how or why this happened so if somebody could please tell I would be so grateful! (Please help!) I ripped out all my seams and did the same process as I had done for the fist scarf and it turned out great again.

DSCN0985

Second scarf (30×80 inches)

DSCN0987

Close-up of the print

I hope you attempt this project and I hope you understood my process.  If you have any additional questions or need clarification on something, I don’t mind if you ask.  In fact I would be happy to help.  By the way, my mum loves them and wears them both a lot.

xxoo

Kate

Leave a Reply

