Paris Haute Couture Fashion Week Review: Schiaparelli

Schiaparelli made its comeback this week with a fabulous collection that took my breath away.  The craftsmanship on these garments was unbelievable.  I know very little about the Schiaparelli history, only that it was the Chanel rival, and closed down in 1954.  I also know that Marco Zanini, new creative director, put on a show that has definitively declared the house open for business once again.  According Lisa Armstrong, the collection was restrained and that “exhibitionism was eschewed in favour of craftsmanship, impeccable fit and a light hand”.  I personally found it inspiring and out-there.  I present to you now two of my favourite pieces from the show.Schiaparelli-Haute-Couture-Spring-2014-1

This was one of my favourite looks in the collection because of the shorts and the long coat.  I like the way they look paired together, but separately they work as well.  I love the pastel colours used especially paired with that darling woven hat.  It just makes me think of a day at the beach, especially since the colours correspond with sand and water, in my opinion.
Schiaparelli-Haute-Couture-Spring-2014

I also loved this look because of the elegantly draped and well crafted, fitted dress and the way it was paired with an oversized jacket.  I love the jacket because it’s so clean cut and classy, but because it’s so large and paired with an evening gown, it gives off a completely different effortless look.

These are some of my personal opinions on the Schiaparelli collection, and I would love to hear your opinions as well! Welcome back and congratulations on a beautiful show!

xxoo

Kate

Leave a Reply

