Birthday Present

Happy (very) belated New Year!  I know, I know it has been a long time since I’ve posted anything new, I’ve just been swamped with all this work I’ve been putting into my portfolio, among other things.  Anyway, since today is my birthday I decided that as a birthday present to me, I would make myself a wool skirt.  I’ve seen them floating around the internet lately and I just really like the idea of a winter skirt.  So I found this really warm wool sweater from Whistler and I decided to make a skirt out of it.  It only took me about a half hour and all I needed was a sweater, an elastic band, pins and of course my sewing machine.  First I cut the sweater at the armpits and cross stitched the edges to keep it from fraying.  You could also use fabric glue to get the same effect, but I decided to just use a simple cross stitch instead.  I then measure the width of my elastic band and made the tube to insert it.  I used a safety pin to pull it through and then I just stitched the tube closed.  And voila! Done and I have a new skirt to wear this winter.

Final product, Happy Birthday to Me!

Final product, Happy Birthday to Me!

It was very warm when I wore it to dinner tonight.  Definitely comfortable and looks great with an oversized sweater and scarf.  I would definitely recommend nylons or tights to keep warm though!

Hope you enjoyed my little project.

xxoo

Kate

Leave a Reply

