Winter Coat

Salut chéries!  So I’ve applied to Ryerson University this year, to the Fashion program and part of the portfolio requirements is to create a garment, so I designed this coat.  Now, I don’t know if I’ve been accepted for a portfolio application yet so I’m really doing this for myself and if the university wants to see my portfolio, this coat is definitely going to be a part of it.

Image

My design for a winter jacket.

Anyway, this is the design I drew, but since I know nothing about making my own patterns I decided to find a similar pattern at the fabric store and adapt it to my design.  I ended up using a Vogue pattern that I found at the same time I found my fabric, which was on clearance for an amazing price!  I was able to get enough fabric for two coats and it only cost me about $40!

Image

My clearance fabric!

I absolutely wanted purple fabric.  I think it’s a breath of fresh air to have a bright coloured coat.  I haven’t finished it yet, but it’s getting there!  Stay tuned for the final product, I sure can’t wait to see it myself.

Wish me luck on my application process!

xxoo

Kate

Leave a Reply

