Simple Skirt DIY

I’ve recently gotten back into sewing and upcycling clothes which is part of the reason I decided to start this blog.  My first project was pretty simple.  I didn’t want to dive right into something complicated on day 1.  After all I’m no expert seamstress so this skirt was a nice little refresher.  I picked up elastic band and some material from the local fabric shop.

Image

All I did was measure the elastic to wear I wanted the skirt to sit at my waist.  Then I cut my material to double that length.  I folded my elastic in half, pinned it; then in quarters, pinned it; and again in eighths and pinned it.  I did the same with my material then I matched up the pins and pinned the material to the elastic.  I continued putting more pins in to make my pleats.  Next I sewed the edges together then cut it to the desired length with a little extra for hemming.  And voila! And adorable little skirt that I can wear with just about everything.

And it really is versatile, I’ve worn it with black pumps, flats, flip flops, sweaters, t-shirts, tank tops, scarves, etc.  It can be dressed up or down, which is what I really love about it.

Image

Hope you enjoyed my first little project!

xxoo

Kate

One thought on “Simple Skirt DIY

  1. Pingback: Simple Skirt DIY: Part II | Pockets & Pearls

Leave a Reply

